About Me

Margaret Murphy
Margaret Murphy

Hi, I am Margaret Murphy

I have written nine psychological novels as Margaret Murphy, published to wide acclaim across the US, UK and Europe; the Clara Pascal books, Darkness Falls and Weaving Shadows received ‘starred’ reviews from both Publishers’ Weekly and Booklist in the USA. Both titles have recently been re-released by Joffe Books.

I’ve written a trilogy of forensic thrillers under the pseudonym A.D. Garrett, the first of which was awarded a coveted Publishers’ News ‘starred’ review. Jeffery Deaver describes the Fennimore & Simms series as ‘Complex, compelling, and just plain marvellous.’

In 2017, I accomplished a long-held ambition to write a serial killer novel. Splinter In The Blood, published under the pen name Ashley Dyer, and yet again, it garnered a ‘starred’ review from Publishers Weekly in the US, where it was published by William Morrow. The sequel, The Cutting Room, was released in the USA in June 2019. The books are available in all formats.

September 2023 will see the release of Dead Man Walking, a London-based thriller. It will be published by HQ Digital, and has been optioned for TV. The book is available for pre-order on Amazon in paperback and Kindle.

I’ve been a published writer for 27 years. Before that, I taught Biology, later changing my specialism to dyslexia, and when my first novel was published I was running a dyslexia unit in a school on the Wirral peninsula. I’ve also been a countryside ranger-interpreter; lecturer and visiting professor in creative writing. From 2008-2017, I was RLF Writing Fellow at universities across the north west of England. I’m a life-long supporter of the World Wide Fund for Nature and a passionate environmentalist.

My books are also listed in order at BooksRadar.com

Margaret Murphy


M.K. Murphy

A.D. Garrett

Ashley Dyer